Merry Christmas, Here’s to Many More…

December 12, 2010

First of all, let me just say I am SO sorry for taking so long to post something new…don’t worry, I’m still alive and well! My mind has just been in other places lately, like where I’m traveling over Christmas (Paris, Barcelona, and Mallorca to be exact!), and not where it should be, like on homework and packing…but we’re all feeling the anticipation of leaving here at Capernwray! As I sit here on my bunk bed while listening to my Christmas music and eating my peppernuts (thanks mom and Gram!), I think about all God has taught me these last 2 months, 2 weeks and 4 days, and I can’t help but be grateful for being here. I know for a fact that if I had spent that time at home, I wouldn’t be where I am at now in my relationship with the Lord, and it’s so exciting and encouraging to think about! However, this time of year has proved to be more difficult than I thought it would be. Before I left for Caperwray, I figured there would be no better way to spend Christmas than traveling through Europe. I mean, this is the chance of a lifetime, and as my mom so kindly keeps reminding me, this is probably the only time I’ll be in Europe (but I really hope not!) So with that in mind, I should be soaking up every moment I get to spend here. But I cannot get over this overwhelming longing to just be home. I miss my family tremendously…being away from them has made me realized just how incredibly blessed I am to have such a loving and supporting family. I miss my friends, whom I love and miss more than they could ever know, and I miss Faith Bible Church (AND Faith Bible Church worship!!), and the amazing love I receive from my church family…and I miss CHARLIE!! I could keep going on and on of course, but those are the main things. It was during one of these times of missing home when God showed me something that I’ve always known, but has never truly made an impact on me until this year. It’s one of the names Jesus was given through the prophecy of Isaiah—the name Emmanuel, which means God with us. I have just been so encouraged thinking about how God came to be with us through His son Jesus, and how through His Holy Spirit living in me, I can feel God’s love for me—so even though I can’t feel the love and warmth from home this Christmas, it’s great to know I have a love that will never leave me, no matter where I go. I won’t be having an “Old Fashioned Christmas” like the Carpenters would, but I am definitely looking forward to seeing more of Europe, and my wonderful cousins Krystn, Marc, Orland, and Noelia, who are so graciously opening their home to my three friends and me. Please pray for us as we travel—for our safety, but most importantly that we would learn to be patient when things don’t go our way, and we would keep Christ as our #1 focus when we travel and for His will to be done above anything else. I hope and pray that we will be able to glorify Him during our three-week break! As far as being at Capernwray goes, I can safely say it’s a time of my life I will never forget! There have been bad days and good days (of course), but all in all I know it’s exactly where God wants me to be, and that gives me the greatest comfort of all. I am excited to get away for a while, but also just as excited to see what the next 2 months, 1 week, and 3 days has in store for me! To everyone who is reading this, I wish you the merriest of Christmases! I hope and pray that you will be able to feel and experience God’s love in ways you haven’t been able to before as you think about the wonderful gift He has given to us through His Son, Jesus! I love you and miss you all! Merry Christmas, here’s to many more…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. krystn
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 14:47:31

    cant wait for you to get here for your 3 week stay!! orland is ALWAYS asking when you are coming (and for some reason he thinks scott is coming too???) anyway hope youre ready for some warmer weather than you have in the UK

    Reply

  2. Elizabeth Anderson
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 16:47:24

    Ah, Ems. Sooooo good to hear what God is teaching you. The lessons you are learning are “hard fought” lessons but more valuable than gold. I am praying for you (and your mama, ’cause she misses you.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

