What I am thankful for…

November 23, 2010

Hello everyone!

Since Thanksgiving is this Thursday and I haven’t written any letters to anyone wishing them a Happy Thanksgiving (sorry!), I thought I would do a blog post instead!

First of all, it’s really weird living in a country that doesn’t celebrate Thanksgiving. I have to keep reminding myself that Thanksgiving is this week, but every time I do, a little piece of me dies…as I wrote in my last blog post, I’ve realized how much I miss home, especially with the holidays coming up. However, this last weekend, after a lot of reflection on why I am here and a long talk with my parents (they did a lot of talking, I did a lot of crying), the Holy Spirit worked in my heart and showed me why I am here: I am not here because I want to be here, I am not here to be popular or to make a bunch of friends, I am not here to see the world…I am here because Christ wants me to be here, I am here because I long for a deeper and more intimate relationship with Him, so therefore I need to learn how to deny myself daily in order to make Him my #1 priority. Saying and realizing this, I have a lot to be thankful for! So I thought I would just share what I am thankful for this Thanksgiving…

I am thankful for my family. I am thankful for my mom and dad who love me very much, who gave me the opportunity to be here, and most importantly, who pray for me everyday. I am thankful for my brothers Ryan and Scott and my sister Alissa, who I’ve shared some amazing memories with. I love that every time I am with them, we ALWAYS laugh, and I really miss that. I am thankful for my grandparents, all my aunts, uncles, and cousins, whom I am guaranteed to have a great time with and who love Jesus…I couldn’t ask for a better family!

I am thankful for my great friends, specifically Laura and Anna. Without their love and friendship, I wouldn’t be where I am today! I am so thankful for the laughter they bring into my life…I love how our relationship has grown over the years, and that no matter where we are later on in life, we will always, always be sisters.

I am thankful for being at Capernwray. I am thankful that my clothes are getting tight, because it reminds me that I am well fed and the Lord has provided for me. I am thankful for the creaky bunk bed I sleep in every night, because it reminds me that I have a warm place to sleep and a roof over my head. I am thankful for the lonely times, because it reminds me that the Lord is my best friend who will never leave me.

I am thankful for my journey. The road hasn’t been easy getting here, and it hasn’t been easy being here, but thankfully Jesus did not promise an easy life…instead, He promises us complete peace in Him because He has overcome the world and its troubles. I am thankful for my trials and struggles from the past and here at Capernwray, and how they draw me closer and closer to my unbelievably loving Savior.

I look at these things that I am thankful for, and it overwhelms me with how much the Lord has blessed me! I can’t imagine being anywhere else at this point in my life…I am so thankful for what the Lord has been teaching me, and I look forward to what He has to teach me next!

I hope you all have an absolutely amazing Thanksgiving and are able to look at your lives and see how the Lord has blessed you. I love you and miss you all!! Happy Thanksgiving!!

Oh and one more thing…I am thankful for Charlie and for the joy he brings me! I miss you baby!

(Editorial note: I added a picture of Charlie I took for Emily)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jen Neely
    Nov 25, 2010 @ 22:23:12

    Emily,

    Just wanted you to know that we love you and you are right where you are supposed to be. We have enjoyed following your blog and you are in our prayers. Everyone at KOI says hi and misses you! Smile and here’s a big hug from the Neely’s to you! Love You!

    ~Jen, Kelly, JT & Megs

    Reply

Leave a Reply

