Great is Thy Faithfulness

November 15, 2010

Hey everyone! Sorry it’s taken me so long to write a blog post…school has been getting crazier and crazier every week, but fortunately I was able to take some time to myself this las weekend and hang out in Liverpool and get away and relax!

I’m pretty sure the last time I posted something was right before pray day. Pray day ended up being such an amazing day! It was such a great day to drop everything and spend time with the Lord. We prayed by ourselves for the first half of the day, and then towards the end of the day we got together with our roommates and prayed with them; I was so encouraged by just spending time with them and talking about what we were struggling with and how we can pray for each other. God also used this day just to show me how absolutely wonderful and powerful the cross is…how even though I am a wretched sinner, it is by His grace alone I am saved. This was something I desperately needed to be reminded of!

I then went from being at a very spiritually high point after pray day to a very spiritually low point. This last week was extremely hard for me…I began to realize just how much I missed home and longed to be in a place where I was comfortable. I missed home so much in fact, that I started having dreams about leaving Capernwray, getting on an airplane, and flying home. I would then wake up in the night thinking I was home in my own bed, only to realize that I was still at Capernwray. Don’t get me wrong, I really enjoy being here; however, in the state my heart was in mixed with my emotions and having dreams about being home, waking up in a bunk bed that I expected to be my own bed wasn’t the best feeling. Luckily God is good, and He has brought me out of that state I was in. Honestly, I still struggle being here, especially since it’s the holidays and a lot of kids here are talking about going home and how excited they are. I am so blessed that I have family over here to spend Christmas with and I am really looking forward to it, but I know it’s not going to be the same. However, God has really shown me that it doesn’t matter where I am, who I spend Christmas with, or what my heart is going through…He is still the same. He is the same God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, and He will be the same God of generations to come. So no matter what changes in my life, I can put my hope and trust in a God who is always be with me and will never, ever change!

God really showed his goodness to me this weekend, because I had such an amazing weekend! I really had a lot of fun and it made up for the somewhat horrible week I had. The school put on a trip to Liverpool, as I mentioned earlier, and I had such an amazing time! A few friends and I went to the Beatles museum and then to the Cavern they first played at…luckily the Beatles were from Liverpool, because without them Liverpool wouldn’t be all that exciting! Then we went shopping (I FINALLY got some warmer clothes!), ate, had Starbucks (first Peppermint mocha!) and came back to Capernwray. When we got back from Liverpool, the school put on a volleyball tournament for the students, so I played on a team. Let me just say, I was totally reliving the glory days of high school, except I was actually playing and not sitting on the bench!

Well, I guess I’ll close this blog post on a “Happy Thanksgiving” note: Thank you to my family and friends back home, for all your love and support throughout the years, and for staying in contact with me while I am over here…I miss you guys so much! But all the thanks and glory goes to my amazing and wonderful Savior, who has brought me here to Capernwray. He has brought me here for a reason, even though I don’t know exactly what that reason is…but thankfully I am growing in trusting Him, in loving Him, and knowing Him better each and every day.

Lamentations 3:21-23—“Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is Thy faithfulness.”

Miss you all

Leave a Reply

