A Foggy Day in London Town

November 1, 2010

Hello Everyone!
I hope I am doing a good job of keeping this blog updated…it’s hard when you start getting into a routine, because it feels like everyday is the same and there is nothing new to write about. However, we just had our travel weekend, which is when we can choose to travel or just stay at the school and relax for the weekend. Luckily I was able to get away from the school and go to LONDON, because I was starting to get cabin fever being at Capernwray 24/7!

I am currently on the train that is taking us from London to Capernwray. I was invited to go to London by my friend Abbie, who I met at school and is from Toronto. She has family friends that live in Bishops Stortford (about 40 minutes from London) who used to run a Bed and Breakfast out of their home, so we were able to stay with them for the weekend…let me tell ya, it was a pretty sweet deal! The rooms were SO nice and it felt like a really homey place. Abbie’s friends, Keith and Gill (pronounced “Jill” not “Gill” like the fish…although many times I wanted to say, “Good morning Gill…I said Good Morning Gill…”) were so nice to let us stay in their house and it was so much fun to get to meet them! Here’s a little side story that I think is pretty funny: the first night we stayed with Keith and Gill, they were kind enough to take us out for fish and chips. It was my first fish and chips that I had had in England, so I was pretty excited about it, taking picture and what not. Well, it’ll definitely be the last fish and chips I have in England, because later that night I got sick and it all came back up! Thankfully I wasn’t sick the rest of the weekend!

Anyways, London was incredible. We spent both Saturday and Sunday there because there is just so much to see. It was actually a little overwhelming at times. There are so many shops to go to, tourist attractions, monuments, museums, ect ect, that we felt like we were running all over the place so we could see as much as we could. But it was incredible to see, for instance, Big Ben with my own eyes and think, “Peter Pan flew over this!” That was actually my first thought when I saw it! We went into a lot of cool shops (that were way too expensive!) and saw so much while we were there. I’m so happy that I got to go!

Besides seeing all the sights, I think what I am most thankful for is God’s faithfulness to me during this travel weekend. First of all, He kept both Abbie and I completely safe while we were traveling through London by ourselves. He also has given me Abbie as a great friend. As you get to know someone better, you start to see their weaknesses and inabilities, and I know Abbie saw mine this weekend; yet after this long weekend together, we are still friends and I know God will use my weakness (and Abbie’s as well) to teach us how to grow in love for one another. I am so thankful for all the friends I’ve made at school, and I can’t wait to see how the Lord uses them in my life!

Now I am back at Capernwray and it actually feels pretty good to be back. I like getting into a routine and feeling comfortable with it! God has really shown me a lot this past weekend though…for instance, before we left, I wasn’t doing so well in my time with the Lord. I felt as if I was saying, “Alright, this first month has been great and he’s taught me a lot, now I can take a break and I don’t really need to learn anything from him for a while.” However, from this past weekend, I realize I need to be constantly dependent upon the Lord, because I never know what life is going to throw my way! I feel like I could go on and on about how much the Lord has been teaching me, but some stuff is just too hard to write down!

This Thursday (November 4th) we’re having a prayer day where we pray all day. I am really looking forward to it, but if you would keep me in your prayers in that I wouldn’t become distracted, and I would have ears that long to hear what the Lord has to tell me and a heart that is open and willing to do whatever he commands of me. Also, they asked us if we would fast from the internet, phone, ipods, ect in the days leading up to prayer day. I really want to do this in the days leading up to it as well as a few days after, so if you would pray that I would have the diligence to actually go through with it, that would be great!

God has been so good to me while I’ve been in England, and I am looking forward to telling you all about it in person when I come home. I miss you and I hope and pray that God, in His great love for each and every one of us, is teaching you something new everyday, for as it says in Lamentations 3:23, “[His compassions] are new every morning; great is Thy faithfulness!”

Love you!

Leave a Reply

