Starting to feel at home…

Psalm 40:1-3—“I waited patiently for the LORD; he turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand. He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear and put their trust in the LORD.”

Hello everyone! It has been a while!

One of my goals here at Capernwray is to keep my blog updated as best as I can, for two reasons: #1-It’s awesome. I am so grateful towards my brother Ryan for setting it up for me because it definitely looks a lot better than what I could do (don’t worry, he didn’t put this in!), and it’s fun to see what he thinks I would like, and he totally got it right! Also, the “About” section brought me to tears (check it out if you haven’t yet…) I am so incredibly thankful for Ryan and the rest of my family, and so grateful for their love! #2-I’ve found that emailing everyone ten paragraph emails makes life just a little overwhelming, so this makes staying in contact SO much easier!! I mean don’t get me wrong, I love hearing from everyone individually, but I think this way is just easier to share what God has been and is doing in my life.

A lot has happened since my last post, and I am glad that I was able to encourage you with what I had to say…as I reread it a couple days ago, I realized that I need to go back from time to time and remember where I started at Capernwray, what kind of struggles God has helped me overcome, see where I am at today, and praise Him for this incredible journey!

I put Psalm 40 at the top of this post because it has been a huge encouragement to me lately, and God has taught me a lot through it. I was talking on the phone with my parents last week, and telling them how I’d been struggling with worry about the future. Call me crazy, but I’m already starting to worry about what’s going to happen after I leave here…I am worried I will go back to Spokane, back to a college where I don’t really know what I want to study, and in exactly the same place I was before I left. I came to Capernwray expecting God to show me what He wants me to do with my future, and for some reason I expected to be enlightened from the moment I got here. Ya, definitely not so! I mean, I’ve been here for almost a month (which is CRAZY), but I still have 5 months for God to reveal to me what he wants me to do. So my dad told me to read Psalm 40, and I am so glad that I did! Aren’t parents the best?! J The part that I love the most about this verse is when it says “I waited patiently for the LORD.” I absolutely hate waiting, but I know God is making me wait to grow me in that area of my life, because there are going to be many more instances in life where He is going to call me to wait. I have also realized that I can wait impatiently or patiently, and my prayer is that I would wait patiently for God to show me exactly what He has planned for me! Even if God’s plan for me is to return to Spokane, back to the Falls or wherever, and be in the same place I was before I left, my prayer is that my heart would be in a different place, that through being here I would learn to love wherever I am at, because God has put me there for a purpose, and that my eyes and heart would be open to seeing what that purpose is.

Ok, that was a lot to take in, but those are definitely things you could be praying about for me! But on to the more practical side of Capernwray…

Lectures have been awesome! We have had some great people come through here so far, and I can’t wait to see what else is in store! Two weeks ago a guy named Paul Keeys came and went over the whole Old Testament in just two days. He was amazing and so entertaining to listen to! Then last week a man named Robert Amos came and spoke on Hebrews. He was very entertaining to listen to as well and had a lot of great things to talk about…I’ve found it’s difficult because I listen to these lecturers and I love what they have to say, but I don’t take the time and really look through my notes and dig deep in what they’ve said, so I need to do that! This week our lecturer, Paul Allan, is speaking on Ecclesiastes and “Facing the Modern World.” The Ecclesiastes lecture is really awesome, but in his other lecture it’s a lot of history and philosophy and it’s all going right over my head! But he’s Scottish, so he’s really fun to listen to! Other than that, we’ve had the principal, Rob Whitaker, as a lecturer and some of the other staff have done lectures as well. I’ve found that it’s so nice to go to school and actually appreciate what I’m learning! Also, assignments have been pretty easy so far. I’m not too worried about them, but it seems like there are a lot, and I forget about them easily! We are currently reading through the Old Testament (I’m in Numbers) and reading a book “Alive in Christ” which we have to write a paper on.

I’ve had the opportunity to be a part of the netball team here at Capernwray, and I have had a blast so far (netball is a combination between ultimate Frisbee and Basketball, in case you didn’t know)! There are different positions (center, wing attack, wing defense, goal keeper, goal attack, goal shooter, and goal defense, I think) and these different positions can only go on certain places on the court. It’s kind of complicated at first, but after playing it awhile you get the hang of it! It’s like basketball in the fact that you shoot the ball, but like ultimate Frisbee in that once you get the ball you can’t move, you have to pass. I play wing defense, and I’m not all that great, but it has definitely been an awesome and fun learning experience! If you want to know more about it, I would suggest looking it up on YouTube, and I will try to take some pictures soon!

Other than that, I’m not really sure what else there is to tell you…the food is better than I expected, but I miss my mom’s home cooking, and come Thanksgiving I am REALLY going to miss my slice of pumpkin pie! My plans for Christmas still aren’t set in stone, but I know I will get it figured out soon! God is definitely working in my heart, constantly convicting me of things I need to work on, and I know there are definitely areas in my life that I hope to grow in significantly this year.

Thanks for all your prayers! If there’s anything specific you want to know about, just send me an email and I’ll try to get back to you ASAP J

I love you and miss you all so much, but I pray that you will see God’s blessings everyday, for they are new every morning…Great is His faithfulness!

Love, Emily Kate

 

Leave a Reply

