Wait.. I’m Where?

Joshua 1:9—“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”

HELLO EVERYONE!!!! Guess what?! I have now been in England for almost exactly ONE WEEK, even though it’s already felt like a couple months! Although I put October 1st at the top this, the post date will most likely be different since I don’t always have the Internet here, but I thought I would let you know exactly how I was feeling on October 1st, 2010…

Let me just start out by saying…GOD IS AMAZING [in case you didn’t know ;)]. I love the fact that even though I have only been here for a week, I can already say in full confidence that in any and every situation, “Because of the Lord’s great love, we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; GREAT IS YOUR FAITHFULNESS” (Lamentations 3:22). God has already proven his faithfulness many times to me on this journey…for starters, I made it to England safely, and I was able to sleep almost the whole way from Atlanta to Manchester, so you know what that means…absolutely ZERO jet lag! I can hardly believe it, but I have slept every night since I’ve been here without waking up! It has been amazing! I also found my way around the airport easily, made it to the train station, and bought myself a train ticket to Carnforth (with help from some students I met along the way). I found that it was a LOT easier to communicate with people here than when I was in Russia this summer…thank the Lord I decided to go to bible school in England!!

I have also been able to see God prove his faithfulness to me by not giving me what I want, and for making this transition a lot harder than I expected. To be completely honest with all of you, I thought I would waltz into bible school and make friends within the first few days and people would just want to be my best friend…I mean, who DOESN’T want to be my friend, right? However, after the second or third night I realized this was not the case…I thought I had made a huge mistake by coming to England. I loved everything about this place, but making friends proved to be more difficult than I thought.

I knew it was going to be hard from the first day. Conversations were somewhat awkward because I felt like all I was able to ask anyone was, “Hi, what’s your name? Where are you from?” and then the conversation would just die. Also, my living arrangements were not what I expected. For those of you who don’t know a lot about Capernwray, there are different sections to the school. There’s the main hall, the tower, the courtyard, and the conference hall; these are all the different places that have dorm rooms. The main hall, the tower, and the courtyard are all part of the “castle” area, while the conference hall is a totally separate building where we have lectures, and the dorm rooms are underneath the lecture hall. I had somewhat of an idea of these living arrangements before I came to Capernwray, and I had already made up in my mind that I wanted to be somewhere in the castle area, and the conference hall was NOT cool. Does anyone want to take a guess at where I was placed? Yep…the conference hall. Doesn’t God have an interesting sense of humor? To be even funnier, I was put in the outer most room of the conference hall. I’ll try to explain this as best as I can, but when you walk into one of the doors to the conference hall, there in a little tiled room that has a phone, and then another door that leads to two hallways that have dorm rooms. My room is opposite the door that leads to the two hallways, in the little tiled room, apart from the hallways, and apart (what feels like) from everyone. I have three roommates, one from Seattle area, one from Alberta, Canada, and one from Norway. Don’t get me wrong, these girls are very nice and have been awesome to get to know, but my first thought was, “These are NOT the roommates I would’ve chosen!” The first few days here were disappointing and I became so worried. I felt like everyone around me got along with their roommates right away, and some people seemed like they already had best friends here. I got so nervous (big shocker, right?) and so overwhelmed that I wouldn’t make any friends and that I would have to call home and say I’m having a terrible time but I wouldn’t come home because I’d be too ashamed and eventually when I would go home after six months, I wouldn’t have any friends from this place and the only good things I could say about my experience was that it was a beautiful area and the lectures were awesome (which they are, by the way)…

Now I’m not saying all of this to make you feel sorry for me; that’s the absolute last thing I want. I am telling you all of this to show how amazing and awesome our God is! God didn’t give me want I wanted; instead, he gave me exactly what he had planned for me, and as he has promised in Jeremiah 29:11, his plans are not to harm me, but to give me hope. I have learned how to commit each and every day here to the Lord as his day, not my own, and that his work and his love would be displayed through me. It has been such a stretching and growing experience already, so I can’t wait to see what kind of plans he holds for me in the upcoming weeks!

Each day gets easier and so does meeting and getting to know people on a more personal level. I really have had to trust in the Lord with meeting people and making friends, and that he would bring the right people into my life. *Funny story: today I was sitting at lunch with some girls that I had spent the previous hour with just hanging out. One of the girls, Ashley, I sit by in lectures, so I know her pretty well, but the other girls, Melissa and Christina, I didn’t know very well. Anyways, at lunch we were talking about places we want to see while we are here, and Melissa asks me if I’m planning on traveling over Christmas break. I told her I was, and she said, “Ok, we are traveling together. You just seem like a cool person to travel with!” So Melissa, Ashley, Christina and I are planning on traveling together right now…we’ll see if that changes in the next few months and I hope it doesn’t, but it is just amazing to me how God totally lifted that burden off my shoulders in about two seconds, and pretty much said to me, “See? I have everything under control!” I am astounded by God’s love and faithfulness everyday!!*

Living with my roommates has gotten easier as well; I have learned to appreciate them and love them, and I am thankful now that I didn’t get to choose my roommates!

On a more practical note: lectures have been awesome (I would tell you all about them, but it’s late here and I’m pretty sure you’re probably ready for me to be done rambling), I tried out for the netball team (since sports and I go so well together) but I think will be a great way to meet some more girls (if I make the team!), and tomorrow (Saturday) I am going to the Lake District and I can’t wait!

Sorry about the long post, but as you can see, so much has happened in such a short amount of time! I will try to make my next posts shorter and more concise, and hopefully I’ll be able to post another one soon so that I won’t have too much to talk about!

I hope you all are doing well! I miss you all very much!!

Cheerio!

Love always, Emily Kate

P.S. There are about 7 Emily’s here at school, so I go by Emily Kate, and it totally reminds me of my family…I love you guys!!!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Renae Colvin
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 14:25:50

    Bertha Bob…

    Praying for you and so excited to read about what God is already doing in your heart :0) Enjoy every moment and continue to trust and rest in His faithfulness and goodness…!!!!

    Luv ya,
    Renae (for the rest of the crazy Colvins!)

    Reply

  2. Erin
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 17:23:08

    Emily – I am so encourgaed to hear all the amazing things God is teaching and showing you. He is maturing you so much to walk in His truths. I am very encouraged by your post and needed to hear some of these things today – “Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified. DO not be discouraged. For the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” So reassuring! Thanks Emms. Love you!!

    Reply

  3. Laura Takisaki
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 21:14:33

    LOVED reading this Em! You are growing so much and I am so proud of you!

    This was super encouraging to read. And I mean…SUPER encouraging. Praise God!

    xoxo,

    LT:)

    Reply

  4. Anna Craven
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 21:35:48

    Thank you for writing this Emily. I want to see pictures of Net Ball!

    Reply

  5. Amy Brown
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 23:59:10

    Wow Ems! First of all, I’m terribly excited that you have a blog! Second, your post was so wonderful and so encouraging! Of course I teared up a few times! 🙂 I love seeing how much you rely on God and how you see His work in your life. You are too cool Emily Kate! Love you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

